No more teachers, no more books… until next semester!

Wow, I didn’t expect my first semester back at college to be that difficult! It turns out that every project I was doing was put on hold until I could finish my semester. My next semester schedule isn’t any lighter though, although I have cut my hours down from work as to give myself more time to work on my projects. 

So here is where we stand, The map editor is very close to release 1.0, and 1.0 is a basic update. It will do what you need it to do, but it isn’t “polished” .. more “functional.” While on winter vacation I am working with my friend to push out a release, and once that is done we will start opening up the source and add whatever features we may need.

I’ve found that my goal for this project was ambitious, but in line to what we could accomplish. I wanted this editor to work primarily for XNA projects, but not only RPGs. Any game that used a tile engine could take advantage of this project. But what about other platforms? iPhone development? Well it would just take some tweaking to the exporter and you’d have a fully functional XML file.. could that work with iPhone development? Not sure.. but I think it would be fun to tinker with :)

As always, check out my right bar links, there are a lot of awesome projects (Including EvilNando’s Animation editor) that i’ve been keeping tabs on. Lot of great things goin on in the world of XNA, here’s hoping that I can get a final push out and start my actual project here soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

