I may just be getting used to this whole OpenGL thing…

I have been playing around with OpenGL ES 1.x for the iPhone, and really having a tough time with it considering I’m used to other ways of getting images to the screen. I started doing some research, and a whole lot of reading, and I think I might have come up with something!

Yep, you’ve guessed it… the basic framework of a tile engine is up and running! Oh sure things are a little different from my XNA tile engine, and I’ll even go as far as saying I’m a little uncomfortable with a few of the things that OpenGL does… but I’m learning. 

One of the major things I’m uneasy about is the world coordinate system used in OpenGL. I am not sure if I’m doing things correctly, but I’ve been used to the (0,0) point to be in the upper left corner of the screen, as you move down your Y value increases… and as you move to the right, the X value increases. OpenGL uses a different quadrant in the coordinate system, where (0,0) is now located in the bottom left corner of the screen, and up increases Y, right increases X. 

No worries though.. the VERY basic framework of my RPG engine has been ported over to ObjC and the iPhone. Step 2 is to expand on that basic framework and get a few key systems up and running (IE: the Tile Engine and other systems)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

