Archive for July 12th, 2009|Daily archive page

D’Jinn Engine: Updates

Over the last few days I’ve been re-working a few of the OpenGL calls and a few classes in the D’Jinn Engine. The most notable change is removing the Texture2D class that apple provides, and instead loading up a Texture2D class of my own that uses the TextureController for memory management. In revamping the Textures from OpenGL, I was hopeful to figure out the problem I’ve been having with the Particle Emitter, and I have not been able to figure it out… but I’ll keep working!

The Emitters problem is documented in both the class file as well as issues on the SVN site.

Anyway, feel free to poke around and send me an email if you find anything that I could do better, or that could be re-structured better. I will start working on new extensions and making the “engine” an actual engine over the next few weeks.. especially now that the design for my game is starting to complete and I have a better idea of what I’ll need to add to the engine to make it work. After all, the D’Jinn Engine is a project of mine to help learn the in’s and out’s of C++ development, so send in that feedback!

Also of note, I obtained the 3.0 SDK and fixed the minor errors in the code that didn’t let you compile and run it under 3.0 OS. You should be able to now. Full list of changes can be found: HERE

Happy Coding everyone!
PS: D’Jinn Engine SVN: CLICK HERE

